MASSACHUSETTS LEMON LAW AND USED CARS
The State of Massachusetts has a lemon law that grants compensation eligibility to people who purchase a used car if that car experiences a defect requiring repairs over 10% of the resale value.
The defects must occur within the State-mandated “term of protection” of 1 year and 15,000 miles from the day you pick up the vehicle.
During the protection period, the vehicle must have undergone repairs in an attempt to correct the problem.
In addition to the protection term and repair history, the defect also must impair the safety, use, or market value of the said vehicle.
MASSACHUSETTS LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS AS IT PERTAINS TO FAILED INSPECTIONS
When buying a used car, it is recommended to have an inspection performed by a licensed auto mechanic and testing center. Massachusetts lemon law covers the purchase of used vehicles for 7 days after the date of the original purchase.
To be eligible for compensation, the vehicle must fail to pass inspection within 7 days of purchase and the required repairs must be more than 10% of the purchase value.
WHAT TO DO IF YOU FEEL THAT YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR COMPENSATION UNDER MASSACHUSETTS LEMON LAW
If you have experienced any of the above-mentioned conditions of eligibility and have attempted to reconcile this issue with the dealer, it is recommended to seek professional advice from an attorney experienced with handling lemon law cases.
Visit Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center website for more information and to get started on your journey to compensation if you have suffered the stress and inconvenience of purchasing an unreliable or defective car.